13/2014 – Chestnut Avenue Nature Trail (20 March 2014)

As I will be leading an informal macro outing to Zhenghua Forest this coming Saturday, I went there to reccee the place this morning. Unfortunately, there were 3 stray dogs lying on the main footpath under the BKE blocking my access to the site. I didn’t think it was a good idea to disturb them. Hence, I gave up my plan and drove to the nearby Chestnut Avenue Nature Trail. It was nice to see beautiful sunray shining through the trees near the place where I parked my car.

(Morning sunray)

(Morning sunray)

There was a big spider having breakfast nearby. It could not figure out the IDs of the spider and its prey.

(Spider having breakfast)

(Spider having breakfast)

I enjoy walking along forest areas especially in the morning where it is cooler, the air fresher and good light.

(At the start of the nature trail)

(At the start of the nature trail)

Due to the heavy downpour yesterday, the surrounding was wet and water droplets can be found on leaves. As I was searching for insects, 2 relatively big water droplets sparkles with the reflection of the sun caught my attention.

(Sparkling water droplets)

(Sparkling water droplets)

Another interesting droplets was spotted nearby.

IMG_1192

As I progressed further into the forest, another spider was seen eating a leaf hopper.

(St. Andrew Cross Spider having breakfast)

(St. Andrew Cross Spider having breakfast)

There were a few dragonflies captured along the way.

(An uncommon female Handsome Grenadier)

(An uncommon female Handsome Grenadier)

(A common female Dark-tipped Forest Skimmer)

(A common female Dark-tipped Forest Skimmer)

(A male Dark-tipped Forest Skimmer)

(A male Dark-tipped Forest Skimmer)

Leave a Reply

