10/2014 – Rifle Range Nature Trail (8 March 2014)

I joined my friend, Sharon, who led an informal macro outing to Rifle Range Nature Trail (RRNT) this morning. At the start of the trail, she spotted a plant full of yellow flowers known as Erycibe tomentosa. A friend recently sent me a Facebook group called “Flowering in Singapore” where it invites people to post photographs of flower as part of an initiative to encourage citizen science. I took a few record shots for this purpose.

(Erycibe tomentosa)

(Erycibe tomentosa)

RRNT is quite a popular place for nature lovers, joggers & hikers. I remember bringing my family of more than 10 people for a morning walk here last year.

(A narrow footpath with plants and trees on both sides)

(A narrow footpath with plants and trees on both sides)

It has a narrow footpath with plants and trees on both sides.   I found a Common Four Ring (Ypthima huebneri) butterfly resting on a leave but only managed to take a few shots before it flew away.

(Common Four Ring butterfly)

(Common Four Ring)

I soon caught up with the group and I saw Allan shooting a dead weevil. As it was an uncommon weevil with black and white spots, I took some shots too.

IMG_9029

(A dead weevil)

We took a short rest half way along the trail.

IMG_3812

I found a light brown colour grasshopper. I don’t think I have seen this species before.

(An uncommon grasshopper)

(An uncommon grasshopper)

Allan spotted a beautiful caterpillar nearby. We took turns to shoot at it. Please let me know if you know the ID.

(What is the ID of this caterpillar?)

(What is the ID of this caterpillar?)

A not commonly seen Straight Snouted Weevil was also spotted nearby but it dropped into the ground. Allan, Foong & Sharon tried very hard to search for it but without success.

(Searching for a weevil)

(Searching for a weevil)

While they were searching, I went to explore on the right side of the forest and found a stream with stagnant water.

(A stream with stagnant water)

(A stream with stagnant water)

I was disappointed not to find any interesting subjects here except a very common cricket. Crickets are insects somewhat related to grasshoppers, and more closely related to katydids or bush crickets.

(A very common cricket)

(A very common cricket)

I proceeded further into the trail and soon reached the wetland, our final destination. Chiat Pin, Stephen, Sia & Babith were already here long ago!

(A wetland at Rifle Range Nature Trail)

(A wetland at Rifle Range Nature Trail)

The wetland is the best place to shoot Singapore’s smallest dragonfly, Nannophya pygmaea. On a good day, there are plenty of them here. Unfortunately, only a handful of males were seen.

(A male Pygmy dragonfly)

(A male Pygmy dragonfly)

There were quiet a number of other common dragonflies and damselflies but most are very active. I only took a record shot of this relatively cooperative immature male Neurothemis fluctuans.

(Immature male, Neurothemis fluctuans)

(Immature male, Neurothemis fluctuans)

As I had an lunch appointment, I left earlier from the group. While on my way back, I found a jumping spider.

(A curious jumping spider staring at me)

(A curious jumping spider staring at me)

Leave a Reply

