7/2014 – Bukit Timah, Lasia Trail (21 Feb 2014)

When I am on afternoon working shift, I used to go out for a short shoot after sending my wife to work in the morning. I have not been doing so for the past one year or so. It is time that I take up this habit again.

As it was pretty hot this morning, I decided to venture into Lasia Trail, a forested area in Bukit Timah. After walking about 300 metres into the trail, the first subject that I spotted was a rare female Shadowdancer (Idionyx ylanda). I have never expected to see one here. Similarly to my first sighting of this rare dragonfly on 8 Jun 2013 at Venus Drive, it was found hanging vertically from a high tree branch.

(Shadowdancer, Idionyx ylanda , female)

(Shadowdancer, Idionyx ylanda , female)

My tripod had to be fully extended and tip toe a little in order to focus via the viewfinder. The windy condition was my greatest enemy today and I had no choice but to use a high ISO in most of my shots.

(Dorsal view)

(Dorsal view)

Unlike most dragonflies, Shadowdancers do not return to the same perch when disturbed. It flew away and disappeared into the forest.

There were quite a few butterfly species found along the trail, only the Common Posy (Lycaenidae ravindra moorei) was the most cooperative. Sadly, the strong wind again prevented me to get a reasonable shot.

(A record shot of a Common Posy)

(A record shot of a Common Posy)

As I moved deep into the trail, robberflies began to show up. A relatively large robberfly with prey was surprisingly sensitive to me and kept moving from a perch to another. It finally disappeared and I did not manage to get a shot of it. I had to be contented with a smaller one without prey nearby.

(A small robberfly)

(A small robberfly)

While on my way back, I found a large robberfly with prey under a shaded branches. Unfortunately, the background was too bright for my liking.

(A large robberfly with prey)

(A large robberfly with prey)

After taking some insurance shots, I moved to the other side to get a different angle of the prey. The background was slightly better now.

(Another angle of the robberfly with prey)

(Another angle of the robberfly with prey)

One thought on “7/2014 – Bukit Timah, Lasia Trail (21 Feb 2014)

Leave a Reply

